Mercia Marina

Recently I visited Mercia Marina with my other half, our friend and her son, and what a fantastic day out it was! Mercia is Europe largest inland Marina, it was constructed in 2008, it was previously just a fishing lake. But now it has so much to offer. 

So we set about exploring. We had a walk around the little shopping village they have, which has some clothing outlets and cute little gift shops. Had lunch in the pub overlooking the dock and had a trip on a barge. Then went for a walk on one of the many trails. 

We then all decided to embark on one of the boat trips. Our barge trip took us on a two hour round trip of the surrounding canal, explaining the history of the canal and the passing barges, we stopped off at a little pub on the way back (for a cheeky Malibu and Coke.) and it was a complete bargain at £12pp and so relaxing, I never knew I needed a boat so bad! I could of stayed on it all day. 

If you live close enough I definitely recommend it for a great day out. I’d visit again just for the boat trip alone! 
Until next time, 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started